Personal loan eligibility, the way banks actually work it out

There is no mystery score. Banks check a minimum salary, place your employer in a category, multiply your take-home pay by a tenure-based factor, and cap your total EMIs. Here is each step, with the real numbers our partners use.

1. You are 18 or older, salaried, and earn the plan's minimum

Every partner plan sets a minimum monthly take-home salary. Below it the plan simply does not apply, whatever else is true about you.

HDFC Bank: from ₹25,000 per month
Axis Bank: from ₹15,000 per month
ICICI Bank: from ₹30,000 per month, CIBIL 725 or above

2. Your employer is placed in a category

Banks keep lists of employers grouped by category, from top-rated companies down to unlisted ones, with government and railway staff as their own groups. The category decides which multiplier table applies and, for some banks, a higher minimum salary.

In the app, choosing Government or Public as your company type places you in the matching category automatically. Other employers are matched by name where the bank has listed them.

3. Your salary is multiplied by a factor that depends on tenure

Each category has a table of multipliers by salary band and tenure. Longer tenures carry higher multipliers, which is why a 60-month loan allows a bigger amount than a 12-month one on the same salary.

A ₹50,000 take-home in a top category at one partner bank carries a multiplier of 13 at 24 months and 18 at 36 months, so the plan allows roughly ₹6.5 lakh and ₹9 lakh respectively, before the checks below.

4. Your total EMIs are capped at a share of income (FOIR)

The fixed obligation to income ratio limits how much of your monthly salary can go to EMIs, including the new loan. Existing EMIs eat into this limit, which is why the app asks for them.

HDFC Bank: 65% for ₹0 to ₹50,000; 70% for ₹50,001 and above
Axis Bank: 50% of income
ICICI Bank: 65% of income

5. The bank runs its own checks before it says yes

Credit history, existing exposure, and the documents you submit. The app's amount is what the plan's published rules allow; the sanction letter is the bank's decision.

Partner plans and their thresholds

Bank Interest rate (p.a.) Tenure Maximum amount Minimum monthly income Minimum CIBIL
HDFC BankPersonal Loan - Salaried 9.99% to 24% 12 to 72 months ₹40 lakh ₹25,000 Not specified
Axis BankPersonal Loan - Salaried 10.25% to 24% 12 to 84 months ₹40 lakh ₹15,000 Not specified
ICICI BankPersonal Loan - Salaried 10.5% to 24% 12 to 60 months ₹50 lakh ₹30,000 725

Rates and limits as shared with Loan Bazzars by the banks. The rate you are offered depends on your profile, and the final terms are set by the bank in its sanction letter.

Run these rules on your own numbers

Five fields, five minutes. The app applies every partner plan's tables and shows the amount you can request.

Call us